Navigating NYS MWBE Certification.
      New System. New Process. Fully Integrated Online Application.

ny.newnycontracts.com

Qualifications for New York State MWBE Certification

 


Definition of a Woman-Owned Business Enterprise (WBE)

Under Article 15-A of the Executive Law, a WBE is a business enterprise in which at least fifty-one percent (51%) is owned, operated and controlled by citizens or permanent resident aliens who are women.

 


Definition of a Minority-Owned Business Enterprise (MBE)

Under Article 15-A of the Executive Law, an MBE is a business enterprise in which at least fifty-one percent (51%) is owned, operated and controlled by citizens or permanent resident aliens who are meeting the ethnic definitions listed in the chart below:
Group Definition
Black Persons having origins from any of the Black African racial groups.
Hispanic Persons of Mexican, Puerto Rican, Dominican, Cuban, Central or South American descent of Either Indian or Hispanic origin, regardless of race.
Asian-Pacific Persons having origins from the Far East, Southeast Asia or the Pacific Islands.
Asian-Indian Subcontinent Persons having origins from the Indian subcontinent.
Native American Persons having origins in any of the original peoples of North America.

 


Qualifications for NYS MWBE Certification

To qualify for New York State certification as a minority and/or women-owned business enterprise (MWBE), an applicant must successfully demonstrate the following through the production of relevant documentation:
Ownership, Operation and Control
All firms seeking MBE, WBE or MWBE certification must be independently owned, operated and controlled by minority members and/or women.

The ownership must be real, substantial and continuing, and the minority members and/or women must exercise the authority to independently control the day-to-day business decisions.
Personal Net Worth Restriction
Each minority or woman owner upon whom certification is based, cannot have a personal net worth exceeding $3.5 Million after allowable deductions.

These are allowable deductions under the law:
  • Primary residence, or the mortgage for that residence.
  • Ownership interest in the applicant firm.
  • Up to $500 thousand of any qualified retirement savings plan.

Mandatory Supporting Documents:
(for each minority or woman owner upon which certification is based)
  1. Current Personal Federal and State Taxes
    (including all schedules, statements and amendments)
  2. Attachment A: Personal Net Worth Affidavit
    (signed, notarized and dated) * Use Attachment B to determine your personal net worth, instructions are provided below.
  3. Attachment B: Auto Calculation Net Worth Worksheet
    Attachment B: Worksheet Instructions
Small Business Restriction
In no event can the applicant firm employee more than 300 Full Time Equivalent Employees(FTE)

Required Supporting Documents for Each Firm:
  1. Attachment C Small Business Affidavit
Independent, Active and One year in Business
The firm must operate independently of other firms, must demonstrate it is an active business’ and generally, the business must be in operation for at least one year.
Out of State Firms
Out of state applicants should be certified as a MWBE in their home state, if a similar process exists, before applying for MWBE certification in New York State.

All applicants must have “Authority to do Business in NYS ” from the New York Department of State prior to submitting an application for MWBE certification.

 


So now you know the new requirements, before you get started…
Have you reviewed the application options to select the one that best fits your firm?
(4 different application options available for qualified applicants)

 

Navigating NYS MWBE Certification.
      New System. New Process. Fully Integrated Online Application.

ny.newnycontracts.com

Currently / Previously Certified with NYS? New Applicant? Never Certified with NYS?
Expired, Expiring Firms seeking Recertification
Guidelines for Updating an Online Profile
Download Instructions to Access Your Account
NYS Certification Eligibility Requirements
First Time Applicants with New York State
Personal Net Worth Restriction Out of State Firms
Attachment A Personal Net Worth Affidavit
Attachment B Personal Net Worth Worksheet
* Use Attachment B to determine your personal net worth, you will find detailed instructions below
Attachment B Worksheet Instructions
Must obtain Authority to do Business in NYS from the NYS Dept. of State Prior to applying for certification
Small Business Requirement
Attachment C Small Business Affidavit


Have a Quick Question?
Call the Certification Helpline: (212) 803-2414
For fastest response send an email with your questions,
and someone will follow up. Select the link below that best matches your inquiry:

Have login or navigation questions?
Contact System Support
Have eligibility or program questions?
Contact Certification Unit