Governor Cuomo Announces Top Winners of the 2021 New York Wine Classic

March 18, 2021

Governor's Cup Presented to Pindar Vineyards 

Paumanok Vineyards Named Winery of the Year

Governor Andrew M. Cuomo today announced the top winners of the 35th annual New York Wine Classic, a nationally recognized competition highlighting the best of New York's wine. Lieutenant Governor Kathy Hochul made the announcement this evening during a special live virtual event hosted by the New York Wine and Grape Foundation.  This year, the Governor's Cup, the most esteemed award given at the Classic, was presented to Pindar Vineyards for its 2019 Dr. Dan's Signature Collection, Gewurztraminer from the Long Island region. In addition, Paumanok Vineyards from Long Island was presented with the 'Winery of the Year' award.

"Congratulations to Pindar Vineyards and Paumanok Vineyards for not only the recognition they won in the competition, but also for showcasing why New York State is a premier wine destination" Governor Cuomo said. "Thanks to our strategic investments, New York's wine industry has seen unprecedented growth over these past few years, and as we reopen our state, wine enthusiasts can enjoy this unique part of the New York experience all across the state."    

"The pandemic created extraordinary challenges for the wine industry, but New York's wineries and vineyards adapted, innovated and continued to create some of the country's best wines," said Lieutenant Governor Kathy Hochul. "From Long Island to Lake Erie, New York is now home to more than 1,200 wineries, breweries, distilleries and cideries that are finally being recognized for their preeminent products. Congratulations to Pindar Vineyards and PaumanokVineyards for their well-deserved awards."   

The Governor's Cup, a large silver chalice, recognizes the "Best of Show" or top prize of all entries in the New York Wine Classic. The "Winery of the Year" award is presented to the winery with the best overall showing based on the level and number of awards in relation to entries.

Read the full press release here.